Kafka Fragments

by György Kurtág, with text by Franz Kafka

Heartbeat Opera
director: Ethan Heard

set: Reid Thompson
lighting: Oliver Wason
photography: Christopher Ash

In forty brief fragments, with text taken from Kafka's letters and notebooks, two travelers arrive in an unknown room, and together, enact a montage of human emotions and experiences: joy, connection, frustration and loss.  It is a conversation, but one speaks with her voice, and the other with his violin. Ultimately, the room in shambles, they must wearily leave in search of the next place to rest.